An Educated Child Becomes A Better Adult

Recently, while at Johnny Rockets, this dad with two kids came and sat at the table beside mine. They were pretty young kids, and I noticed his little boy kept looking at me curiously. When they were done eating, the family got up to leave, and maybe it was my imagination, but it looked like the little boy was walking up to talk to me, and his dad grabbed him by the hand, and they walked out of the restaurant. Wrong move, dude. There are going to be disabled people in his world, and all around him. What happens if he encounters a physically or mentally disabled child at his school? Are you going to teach him to ignore them, too? Whether I was right about what I encountered at this restaurant or not, I want to use this moment to speak out. If your child wants to come up and speak to a disabled person, LET THEM DO SO. If you don’t, I am sorry to say your child is going to grow up to be a clueless and ignorant person. Believe me, it is better to educate them when they are young. As a disabled person and advocate, it is my job and pleasure to educate your child.

In Christ’s Love,

Ashley N. Moulin

Like Friends On Wheels on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/cpbuddies

 

IMG_4772

Leave a Reply

